2016 GLO CAF Award: Leicester City Star Riyad Mahrez Named African Player Of The Year 2016,See Full List Of Winners

share on:


Leicester City’s Riyad Mahrez has won the 2016 Glo/ CAF Player of the Year award – preventing Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang from scooping the gong for a second time.

It was the first time the Algeria international was nominated, and turned the tables against the Gabonese at Thursday’s CAF gala in the Nigeria capital of Abuja thanks to a sparkling run of form for his English Premier League side.

Aside scoring 17 goals, Mahrez also contributed 11 assists for the Foxes, are in danger of getting relegated to the English Championship.

The 25-year-old, thus, becomes the first Algeria to win the prize since legendary Rabah Madjer in 1987.

The recipient of the award is decided by national team coaches and technical directors in Africa – with Yaya and Samuel Eto’o the most-honoured individuals with four titles each.

See below the full List of winners at 2016 GLo CAF AWARD

Here is the list of all the winners at the prestigious awards ceremony.

Women National Team of the year: Nigeria Falcon

National Team of the year: Cranes of Uganda

Club of the year Award: Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa

Coach of the Year Award: Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns’ head coach)

Most Promising Talent: Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City and Nigeria)

Post this cod to ads cod

Women’s Player of the Year Award: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Arsenal Ladies)

Referee of the Year Award: Bakary Papa GASSAMA (Gambia)

Legend Award: Emilienne Mbango (former Cameroon player) and Laurent Pokou (former player of Côte d’Ivoire)

African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) – Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

African Player of the Year (2017): Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and Leicester City)

Congrats to all the winners!!!


Leave a Response